Me, My Selfie and I

It was an impossibly hot Los Angeles summer day. We made love in front of the open refrigerator with the blinds pulled and the sound of the neighbor kids playing in the driveway outside her apartment.

I was surfing the anti-social media three at a time when someone posted that it was raining off in Anaheim, the City of the Mouse.

I looked at the weather on the internet and it said zero percent chance of rain. I drove west on Fountain with the windows down. My left arm and leg got wet. It felt good, almost like a new start. If only I was a weatherman, I could get away with accepted inaccuracy.

It only rained enough to move the dirt around on my car but not wash it off. Still, the rain was a strange blessing from above. But I would need to wash this car soon.

The radio played songs I had already heard many times before. I turned it off and listened to the wet asphalt under my tires. It droned like a simple meditation that tangled and untangled vines in my thoughts that could never be recorded, only experienced, as all good things must be.

When I got home, I posted a picture of myself on the internet. Someone commented that they had never seen me post a “selfie” before. I looked at the computer and was aware that I was alone.

Selfie940_2343349827791690582_n

Written by Daniel Overberger

Edited by Nancy Winebarger

2 Comments

  1. Christine said,

    July 9, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    ❤️❤️ Love this

  2. Cara said,

    July 16, 2015 at 11:43 am

    Dopeness!


Leave a Reply

